An increasingly absorbing project inspired by some of the finest and lesser-known landscapes of West Wales

scribblah

Carn Llidi small chamber

So you’d think that as it’s August we’d be having some nice summer weather. You’d think. Except this is Wales and there I was in Pembrokeshire a couple of days ago, near the top of Carn Llidi, trying to draw in gale force winds. In August. In summer. Yeah.

I did as much as I could, which wasn’t much in those conditions. There are two chambered tombs on the site and this is the smaller, which was slightly protected from the gusting wind by the larger tomb. I managed to get a substantial outline drawn onto my prepared paper and took some photos so I can finish it later.

I have been travelling across South Wales with Rhondda-born archaeologist Dewi Bowen and Swansea film maker Melvyn Williams, hunting the wild megalith, accompanied by my portable drawing board, portfolio of Fabriano paper and a bag full of assorted artist’s materials.  

View original post 62 more words

